What is CPCS?

The Construction Plant Competency Scheme (CPCS) is the largest and most highly recognised card scheme for the plant industry. More than 280,000 individuals carry the card and it is required to be able to operate on most major contractors sites in the UK

The Process

The usual process for operators to enter the scheme is by first gaining a (Red)Trained Operator Card, then progressing to the (Blue) Competent Operator Card. Once the operator has the (Blue) Competent Card, they can renew it every 5 years.

Step 1 - CITB Health, Safety and Environment Test

The CITB Health, Safety and Environment Test, sometimes known as the '"touch screen test", would normally be your first step towards working in any type of construction role.

It is in place to make sure that all construction workers meet a minimum level of health, safety and environment knowledge and is normally needed to gain access to and start work on most construction sites in the UK.

For CPCS Scheme purposes, whenever you want to take a CPCS Technical Test, upgrade or renew a CPCS Card you need to have completed one of these tests within the last 2 years. This shows that you are maintaining the correct level of health, safety and environment knowledge.

Click the button below for more information and how to book.

Step 2 - Training 

Step 3 - CPCS Technical Test 

Step 4 - CPCS (Red) Trained Operator Card

Step 5 - Level 2 Plant Operator NVQ

Step 6 - CPCS (Blue) Competent Operator Card

Step 7 - Renew Your Card

This description of the CPCS Scheme process is a brief outline of what you need to do. Further details of the CPCS Scheme can be found on the CPCS website, or within the CPCS Scheme Booklet for Operators.